Meditation Sensations

Fellow Meditators,

I have been meditating for sometime now but tonight I experienced a very odd sensation AFTER my practice.

First off let me say that I do not have a fever, dehydration, no heart conditions, obesity, nor am I taking any psychotropic medications.

That said after a 35 minute sitting, 1/2 lotus. I got up, after waiting for blood to return to my legs. I prepared for bed and was hit with the most severe chills I have ever experienced. They lasted about five minutes and then stopped.

The last time it was even close I was severly dehydrated, 3 IV bags full, and was in the desert on operations in the military.
I can assure I have had plenty of fluids today and ate well too, so I do not think that was it.

Also I have had some medical training and short of the aforementioned dehydration, heat stroke, or hypothermia I can think of a no good cause for this.

Has anyone ever experienced this? I look forward to your responses.

About nascentbuddhist

I have been on the 8 fold path about a year now and hope to pass along. What I have learned and learn from you too.
This entry was posted in Meditation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Meditation Sensations

  1. Rob says:

    I can honestly say I’ve never experienced that before. I have a little medical training as well though… I’ve injured my lower back on 2 occasions, and during the injuries I occasionally would get sensations like cold, wet, heat etc etc.

    I’m not sure if your experience was psychosomatic or physiological. But I do know that I’ve occasionally hit a tender point in my sciatic nerve during meditation. (Mostly when shifting my weight)

    However, it may also be psychosomatic… Intense enough meditation can bring about physical sensations. Especially in intense visualization practices. If you were doing a meditation on focusing all suffering of sentient beings to become your own especially. I caught a 24 hour bug after this kind of meditation.

    Also… Not being sure of any of your medical or meditation history I would suggest asking at least a nurse (Many hospitals have an “ask a nurse” phone number for quick medical questions). You can never rule out legitimate medical explanation for things such as this. šŸ™‚

    Rob “@rmurray1985”

    • Rob,

      Thank you for your comments. I did call the nurse at the VA and they pretty much said what I had already surmised and you seemed to confirm too. I just had a whole body MRI including the brain and besides my usual issues nothing new. I checked on WebMd and they gave me the following.

      1. Panic Attack – Definitely not this as I know what they are.
      2. Hypothermia – Not likely as I was covered up and warm
      3. Abscess – No fever or infection
      4. Lyme Disease – No ticks plus it is 15 degrees outside šŸ˜‰
      5. Tuberculosis – Been tested and cleared
      6. Plague – Pretty sure not this one.
      7. Toxic Shock Syndrome – Other than Chills I have no other symptoms.

      Last nights practice was no different than any other physiologically. I sat in my normal spot, similar clothing, 1/2 lotus legs alternated from morning practice. Dinner was normal, as I do all the cooking. My routine was almost exactly the same except it was a 1/2 hour earlier than usual.

      Your idea of it being psychosomatic is interesting and made me think about it. There was one other time I felt like this. I had a surgery and underwent full anesthesia. I remember when I came out of it I had serious chills that were almost exactly like the ones I had last night. Hmm, was my meditation deep enough to cause my body to react to “returning to normal” in such a way? The past few days I have felt like something was building and today I feel more at peace than I have in a while. I will reflect on this for a bit. Thank you for your thoughts.

      I am going on retreat this weekend and I will pose this question while there and post what I am told.

  2. I have never had much luck with meditation, my mind is a very loud and busy place that is also very untrained. However I often experience chills and goose flesh when I’m chanting at the Temple I have started to attend. When ever I’ve had a ‘deep’ experience, emotionally or spiritually, I’ve almost always gotten chills. Sometimes they are brief and other times it continues for several minuets. Not sure if this helps at all. _/\_

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Meditation Sensations | Verdant Bodhi Tree -- Topsy.com

  4. @_karmadorje says:

    Perhaps you were clearing some karma. Perhaps this was a good thing. It didn’t last long, was manageable & you returned to normal quite quickly. Personally, I would translate what you experienced as some sort of clearing, whether karma or energy channels shifting some rubbish. When we meditate properly our channels & meridians do become cleaner. This accumulated heavier energy has to get out some way.
    I have felt enormously sick during some empowerments only to fell totally better when it has almost finished. One of my meditation practices can make me feel unwell. I have been told on a number of occasions by Rinpoches that this is a good sign & shows that the practice is working.

    • Thank you for your comment. Today was a better day overall so perhaps you are correct.
      Take care

      To all who responded, you will be in my thoughts tonight.

Leave a comment